Earthquake Survival Guide

When do you realize your joke is not funny…when it really IS an earthquake that is shaking the building!  Everyone by now has been able to joke about the DC Earthquake that literally shook up our Tuesday afternoon.  I have to say it was freaky.  The scariest part (besides the somewhat prophetic dream/nightmare I had the night before about an evacuation) was not having an intrinsic reaction of what to do in the event of an earthquake.  Normally I am impressed with my natural instinct in catastrophes but this one, not so much.

I must have been absent, not paid attention, or never learned the drill for an earthquake in elementary school.  I mean obviously you don’t get in a bathtub to avoid the earth opening up and the building you’re in becoming a pancake (which there aren’t any bathtubs in my office anyway if you wondered).

This unpredictable, uncontrollable event did inspire me to look up what to do during an earthquake on FEMA.  My favorite line is the first one on the site “stay as safe as possible during an earthquake.” As if I wanted to take that moment to be really risky! But it is definitely helpful for future reference (and now I am prepared for other disasters like volcanic eruptions in DC)

I also decided to make my own do’s and don’ts based on my experience:

Do accept that this is really happening.  The deer in headlights approach never works and consulting with your co-worker about whether the building really shook just wastes time. Although screaming “we’re all gonna die” doesn’t help anyone’s anxiety.

Don’t run back to get your stuff…well try to at least grab your cell phone.  It felt very isolating being outside with no phone to check on other people I care about in the surrounding area. I may have also called to see if my apartment was still open.

Do “Drop, Cover, and Hold on”…you can read about this tactic on the FEMA site. On a side note, apparently the whole “stand in a doorway” approach is really not the best.You may also want to consult your company’s HR handbook if “holding on” to you means other people.  I’m still not 100% sold on the potential of being trapped under rumble due to my claustrophobia but statistically the odds are better which leads too…

Don’t run out of the building if its shaking. Good to know next time because I definitely did that however evacuating during the earthquake is apparently how the highest number of fatalities occur from this natural disaster.

Do have a safe room or a natural disaster emergency pack.  These two things seem to be good for all natural disasters, well maybe not for a tsunami, but you can figure it out on FEMA’s site. My two cents is maybe all desks should come equipped with helmets and airbags.

Don’t forget to check in on Facebook because we realized when all else fails Facebook will be up and you can get access to the fifty million people you care about instead of waiting for a text back. This is the modern “live to tell people about it.”  Now we live to update status messages about it!  This is also a good way to see the humor in the situation…I think we have all seen the plastic lawn furniture picture from at least 10 of our local friends.

Do find friends to go grab a drink (or two or ten, whatever calms the nerves)…you survived!

Oh and Don’t jump under your desk the next day when the dump truck comes to pick up the dumpsters that tends to shake the building everyday…seriously I understand PTSD a lot better now!

All in all its amazing how quick you can make peace with god, run down a stairwell in heels, and realize your life doesn’t actually flash before your eyes. I will say you never feel more alive than that moment of uncertainty about your future! And maybe its a good reminder of what is really important in life.

2 thoughts on “Earthquake Survival Guide

  1. The east coast earthquake is all over the news in California, and as a Californian, many of us did get a bit of a chuckle, so I do want to apologize the insensitivity. 😦 I understand, if you’ve never felt an earthquake it’s scary. I was so scared in my first earthquake as a child that I have never been without my emergency bag. We put on a front and laugh it off because it happens all the time here, but when it comes down to it, a huge earthquake is bound to come and none of us are prepared.

    The most important thing we can do is take precautions. None of us can really be 100% ready for a natural disaster. Maybe, you’d like to check out my list that i just posted on my blog! http://t.co/fQPBWwx

    Bon voyage! Thanks for sharing on your blog. btw. I like the pictures on the top of your blog as your theme. Looks like a great time in DC

Leave a comment